Research Guides: Management & Leadership: Getting Started

Scholarly Resources

Scholarly journals require an article to be subjected to a process of critical evaluation by one or more experts on the subject. These authorities are responsible for determining originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. Most articles and information in library databases are scholarly and peer reviewed.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
US and global industry reports, including overviews, industry performance, and outlook, key companies and statistics, operating conditions, and useful infographics.
Business environment profiles, including consumer behavior, demographics, economics, commodities, and financial markets.
Search by NAICS code or keywords.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Contains public and private company data. Check the D & B Private Company database box to search for a private company.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

The following journals will be helpful in the completion of projects and assignments. They are mandatory resources for many projects and assignments. To find more journals, use the Journal Finder. For additional help contact any librarian.

Management & Organizational History
Management & Organizational History is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that aims to publish high quality, original, academic research concerning historical approaches to the study of management, organizations and organizing.
Management today
Articles, research, commentary, profiles, training and book reviews on all aspects of business management.
Journal of Small Business Management
Articles, notes and other features on subjects of current professional interest in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship aimed at small business readers and their advisors.
Journal of Organizational Behavior
Research, theory and review in industrial/organizational psychology and organizational behavior fields including motivation, work performance, job design, occupational stress, personnel selection, organizational structure and managerial behavior.
Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes
Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes publishes fundamental research in organizational behavior, organizational psychology, and human cognition, judgment, and decision-making.
Leadership & organization development journal
The Leadership & Organization Development Journal explores behavioral and managerial issues relating to all aspects of leadership, and of individual and organization development, from a global perspective.
Leadership Excellence Essentials
Centrally concerned with issues & ideas relating to personal development, managerial effectiveness & personal productivity.
The Leadership Quarterly
Stresses theory and empirical research on effective leadership in all walks of life. Publishes scholarly research and developmental applications from fields of inquiry about leadership.

Use the following links to find e-books on a variety of management and leadership topics.