Skip to Main Content

To access Safari eBooks,


DNP: Doctor of Nursing Practice

What is QSEN?

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) has funded the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) project for three phases to date. The overall goal through all phases of QSEN is to address the challenge of preparing future nurses with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSA) necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of the healthcare systems in which they work.

In order to accomplish this goal, six competencies were defined in Phase I of the project. These competencies included five from the Institute of Medicine (IOM) - patient centered care, teamwork and collaboration, evidence-based practice, quality improvement and informatics - as well as safety. In addition to these definitions, sets of knowledge, skills, and attitudes for each of the six competencies were created for use in nursing pre-licensure programs (Cronenwett, et. al., 2007).

The QSEN Competencies

QSEN logo

The six QSEN competencies are:

© 2023 Franklin University Nationwide Library - Frasch Hall, First Floor 201 S. Grant Ave. Columbus, Ohio 43215 614.947.6550 or 1.866.341.6252 | Fax: 614.461.0957 |