Research Guides: Career and Professional Skills Vocabulary: Learning Vocabulary Tips

Recommended Resources

Below is a short list of resources to help students develop their vocabulary. For all general word searches, the Oxford English Dictionary is the best source. Link below!

Check out the subject-specific vocabulary lists included in this guide as well!

Brainscape
Create online flashcards for FREE to help you study new vocabulary terms.
Grammarly
Franklin University offers FREE Grammarly accounts for faculty, staff, and students. To activate your free Grammarly account, please follow this link and click on "Sign in and upload a paper to Grammarly." PRO TIP: To keep Grammarly free, students must sign up with their Franklin student email address (ending in @email.franklin.edu).

Oxford English Dictionary
Historical dictionary of the English language.

Thesaurus.com
Thesaurus.com is a great resource to learn new words to describe something. This is a great resource if you're struggling to come up with new search terms!

World Book Advanced
Thousands of articles, primary sources, and online books designed to support personalized learning and enhance digital citizenship. Contains up-to-the-minute access to worldwide news publications, government links from numerous countries, and multimedia reference materials.

Using dictionaries and encyclopedias

If you're not super familiar with dictionaries, have no fear! Check out this video to learn how to effectively use a dictionary entry for your studies.

Additionally, for assistance navigating the Oxford English Dictionary, check out their video guides here! Subtitles are available for these videos in a number of languages, including Korean, Spanish, and traditional Chinese.

For assistance using World Book (an online encyclopedia), check out their video tutorials here.

If you still have questions, please reach out to the Franklin University Library. We would be happy to help!

Research Assistance

The Library offers a number of resources for students with "how-to" research questions! Check out the following resources:

Check out our full list of helpful research guides here!
Struggling to use a specific database or other resource? Check out our video tutorials!
Still have research questions? Schedule a FREE one-on-one appointment with a Franklin librarian for further assistance!

Tutoring Assistance

The Learning Commons offers a number of resources for students who would like some additional tutoring:

Looking for a workshop recording? Find the full list here!
Schedule a tutoring appointment here! (Requires logging in with your Franklin credentials)
View the full tutoring schedule here!