Research Guides: ENG 120 College Writing: Argumentative Paper

Find Articles & Information

Library Resources
Websites

Search these databases to find articles (newspaper, magazine, & journal articles), as well as books & ebooks, that provide background & supporting information and various perspectives on issues:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 7,000 research journals.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Presents each side of an issue with viewpoint reports, and adds journal articles, statistics, video/audio, news, and primary sources.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced overviews, arguments and counter-arguments from a wide array of news sources, primary sources, and reference works on controversial topics of interest today.

Use these websites to do background research, find articles on topics, and even develop a topic.

ProCon.org
Provides resources for critical thinking and to supports educating without bias.
Pew Research Center
Non-partisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research in a variety of topics, including Politics, Science & Technology, Demographics, Global Trends, and more.
ProPublica
An independent, non-profit newsroom produces investigative journalism in the public interest.

Argument Paper Resources

Purdue OWL: Argument Papers
The following sections outline the generally accepted structure for an academic argument paper. Keep in mind that these are guidelines and that your structure needs to be flexible enough to meet the requirements of your purpose and audience.
UNC Writing Center: Argument
his handout will define what an argument is and explain why you need one in most of your academic essays.
Purdue OWL: Logic in Argumentative Writing
This handout is designed to help writers develop and use logical arguments in writing. This handout helps writers analyze the arguments of others and generate their own arguments.
Academic Voice
Writing assignments at the university level require that students adopt a way of writing that is known as an academic voice. From the University of Arizona Writing Center.

ENG 120 College Writing

Learning Commons Video Tutorials

Find Articles & Information

Argument Paper Resources

Sample Argument Papers

Rhetoric: Essentials of Argument