Research Guides: HUMN 240 Popular Culture: Home

Popular Culture

An introductory course that examines basic concepts in popular culture studies and the role the popular arts and artifacts play in shaping cultural values. The course covers basic theories and approaches to topics like best sellers, popular music, popular art forms, cultural heroes from the sports and entertainment worlds, and other popular phenomena.

Why Pop Culture?

Featured Academic Journals

Featured Databases

Make researching easier! Search for academic articles and other resources on specific topics using the following databases:

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles related to film and television.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Presents each side of an issue with viewpoint reports, and adds journal articles, statistics, video/audio, news, and primary sources.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.