Research Guides: Business Administration: Home

Scholarly Resources

The following databases are recommended for business administration research. More can be found on our Databases page. Select "Business Administration" in the dropdown menu under the By Majors tab.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 7,000 research journals.
Mergent This link opens in a new window
Locate financials for both Public and Private companies.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

The following journals may be helpful in the completion of projects and assignments. To find more journals, use the Journal Finder. For additional help contact any librarian.

Harvard Business Review Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Academy of Management Learning & Education Features a wide range of materials devoted to management education in colleges and universities, and all organizations that formally foster learning about management.
The Academy of Management Journal Original articles and research notes that develop, test or advance management theory and practice.
Performance Improvement Addresses improving human performance through a wide range of techniques, including incentives and feedback, effective management, performance aids, organizational development, job design and instruction.
Stanford Journal of Law, Business & Finance Articles that address practical legal issues prevalent in the worlds of business and finance.
Strategic Management Journal Original material concerned with all aspects of strategic management, book reviews, communications, editorial comments and invited papers on practices and developments in strategic management; forum for advancing strategic management theory and practice.
Journal of Business Provides news and analysis of business education.
Journal of Marketing Research Written for technically oriented professional market researchers and academicians. Articles cover concepts, methods, & applications of marketing research, as well as reviews and comments relating to the research industry and its practices.
Journal of Consumer Research An interdisciplinary journal focusing on all aspects of consumer education.
Project Management Journal The peer-refereed academic and research publication of PMI, Project Management Journal features state-of-the-art management techniques, research, theories and applications.
McKinsey Quarterly Features articles pertaining to the world of business, including management theory, marketing, purchasing, and other areas.
International Journal of Business & Society The International Journal of Business and Society is an internationally refereed journal committed to publishing scholarly works using multidisciplinary approaches with a strong emphasis on business and economics.
The Economist
A weekly newsmagazine of world politics and current affairs, business, finance and science published in London, England.

Below you will find recommended e-book databases as well as subject groupings for business e-books.

Databases:

E-Book Central
Collection of almost 150,000 Ebooks on Business, Computer Science/IT, Humanities, Nursing/Allied Health and More.
You can also create bookmarks, take notes, or print/download chapters by creating and Ebrary Account.
EBSCO E-books
Full text ebooks on a variety of topics.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text of unlimited-access electronic books published by Wiley from 2012 to the present.

Subject Groupings:

Professional Organizations

Professional and trade organizations set standards of professional competence, maintain professional standards, lobby for legal issues related to professional services, and develop codes of ethical conduct.

The Academy of Management
The Academy of Management (the Academy; AOM) is a leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations.
The American Society of Training and Development
The world's largest professional association dedicated to the training and development field.
The Association of MBAs
The only professional membership association for MBA students and graduates, accredited business schools, and MBA employers.
The Center for Creative Leadership
The Center for Creative Leadership offers an exclusive focus on leadership education and research.
The National Association of Women MBAs
Dedicated to empowering female business professionals to propel more women into leadership positions in corporate America and to enhance the diversity of the nation‘s workforce.
The National Black MBA Association
Dedicated to develop partnerships that result in the creation of intellectual and economic wealth in the black community.

Build a Tower, Build a Team

In this TED Talk, Tom Wujec presents some surprisingly deep research into the "marshmallow problem" -- a simple team-building exercise that involves dry spaghetti, one yard of tape and a marshmallow. Who can build the tallest tower with these ingredients? And why does a surprising group always beat the average? Explore additional stimulating TED presentations on business, organizational behavior and collaboration, and the creative spark.