MSN - Nurse Practitioner (FNP / AGPCNP)

This Research Guide provides information about library resources available to Franklin University students who are seeking their MSN or MSN-Nurse Practitioner.

It includes resources specific to Nurse Practitioners, as well as the following information which will help MSN and Nurse Practitioner students conduct research:

• how to identify and evaluate scholarly research;
• how to search library databases and look for specific journals or articles;
• finding databases to search for articles when conducting nursing research; and
• locating nursing books and ebooks.

Additionally, you can find information to help you with your program on

• how to engage in EBP (evidence based practice) and use the PICOT method;
• using the UptoDate clinical decision support resource tool;
• how to use the CareOnPoint clinical decision-making tool; and
• completing your eportfolio.

There is also a page of COVID-19 resources which lists websites and databases providing information about COVID-19.

For more information about using library resources to conduct library research as you pursue your degree, view the videos below. You can also scroll down to find information to help you with graduate student writing.

The Graduate Student Academic Writing Guide was created specifically for graduate students as a step-by-step overview of the research writing process. It contains sections on how to:

1. develop a topic
2. locate information
3. evaluate your sources

It also provides writing tips and resources, as well as resources for preparing an annotated bibliography and conducting a literature review.