To access Safari eBooks,
A journal is a publication that contains multiple articles on a specific subject. When an instructor tells you that you need X number of articles for an assignment, one of the best places to search is within an academic (scholarly) scholarly journal, or a professional (trade) journal.
The field of Public Administration has a number of journals available for students. The following video will walk you through how to search for journals from the Franklin Library website:
A "database" is an organized collection of information, such as photographs or articles. Franklin University subscribes to a number of databases on the subject of Public Administration. Below is a tutorial for advanced searching through EBSCO, the platform where many of our databases are housed.
For additional help using our databases, consider booking a Research Coaching Appointment with a Franklin librarian.
The Franklin University Library has a number of physical Public Administration books available to students who are able to physically come to the Learning Commons in Frasch Hall. This list was made by searching the keywords "criminal justice."
The Franklin University Library has a number of Public Administration eBooks available to students. This list was made by searching the keywords "criminal justice."
Additionally, Franklin University provides access to an eBook database called Ebook Central that include eBooks on the topic of Public Administration:
A collection of almost 150,000 EBooks on business, computer science/IT, humanities, nursing/allied health, and more. Additional functionality such as bookmarking, note taking and printing/copying features are available by creating an Ebook Central account. Contains single use, multi-use and unlimited use titles.
Local public libraries around the world have books and online resources available on local Public Administration topics. Additionally, most public libraries worldwide have technology and quiet spaces available to work on assignments. If you haven't already visited your local public library and signed up for a library card, it is highly recommended that you do so!
Pro Tip: some online resources from public libraries will require an active library card to access.
Ohio students only: If you aren't able to find the book you want through the Franklin University catalog, you can always try the OhioLINK catalog. Items requested through OhioLINK can be sent to your local library for pick up, or to the Franklin University Library for pick up.
OhioLINK is a free library service available to Ohio residents only. This list was made by searching the keywords "public administration."
WorldCat is a library catalog which allows you to search for library items available around the world.
WorldCat is an online library catalog that allows you to search for library items around the world. This is the best option for students outside of Ohio who are searching for physical books.
Federal and state government sites can be great places to find information on demographics and social issues.
U.S. Federal Government
Search USA.gov to look for information from the federal government.
State Government
For a state government, try searching Google with your topic, state and "site:.gov". This limits just to government sites.
