Library, Tutoring, Testing - New Employees - Welcome! - Research Guides at Franklin University

Library Resources

As a new Franklin employee you automatically receive library patron privileges to checkout or request materials or use library databases. This usually happens within one week of hire date. If not, give us a call!

To learn more about your borrowing privileges and online resource access, please review our policies:

Borrow, Request & Renew Material

Physical Materials

As a Franklin employee you can borrow materials from the Franklin University library, OhioLINK, and SearchOhio. NOTE: OhioLINK and SearchOhio are only available for residents of Ohio.

Franklin Library Catalog
Search the Franklin library catalog for print books, ebooks, DVDs, and CDs.
OhioLINK
Search the OhioLINK catalog to locate materials not owned by Franklin. Limited to print books, DVDs and CDs. Ohio residents only. Items are available within 3-5 business days.
SearchOhio
Use SearchOhio to locate materials not owned by Franklin. Limited to print books, DVDs and CDs. Ohio residents only. Items are available within 3-5 business days.

Academic Journals

If you are looking for a specific article, you can check to see if we have access to the academic journal it is located in by using the Journal Finder. You can then browse a journal by volume and issue or search within a journal to locate an article.

Journal Finder
Search for a journal title to determine if Franklin has access and to locate specific articles.

Peer Reviewed Articles

To search for articles, use our databases. You can find databases by name, major, or format (ebooks, newspapers, dissertations, etc.). You can also try OneSearch, our one-stop search option located in the middle of the library's homepage. Click on OneSearch in the left hand menu of this guide to learn more.

Databases
Use databases to locate articles. Databases can by filtered by name, major, or type.

Research Guides

This New Employees guide is an example of one of our library Research Guides. We can customize these to support any program, course, or department.

Benefits for users include:

Save time
Clear a path to relevant news, blogs and databases
Reduce information overload
Provide research tips and strategies

If you'd like to request a guide be made for a new program or course, please contact the appropriate liaison librarian. Liaison information is located on all program and course guides.

Please view our complete list of guides by clicking on the link below.

Research Guides
Save time and reduce information overload with Research Guides. Research Guides contain curated information to help you identify the most relevant resources for your research. We have created a guide for every program at Franklin University, as well as guides for specific courses and research topics.

Tutoring

Franklin students have access to free tutoring services. With face-to-face or online options, students can be sure to find something that fits their needs and schedules.

Tutoring
The Learning Commons holds an average of 2,000 tutoring sessions a term with 70% of sessions provided in support of computer science, mathematics and writing.
Workshops
Learning Commons workshops are a great way for students to expand their research skills and learn how to use library tools and resources.
Structured Learning Assistance
Structured Learning Assistance (SLA) provides students with an opportunity to ask questions and reinforce the course material. In fact, 93% of participants surveyed indicated that they felt better prepared for homework and exams after attending SLA.
Online Writing Review
The writing service is available to review and provide feedback on student papers prior to in class submission. Students complete a form with basic information about themselves and the assignment, then email their paper to the Learning Commons. Student papers are then reviewed by a qualified tutor who adds comments to the paper and returns it to the student within 24-48 hours.

Testing

The Testing Center facilitates the testing process and provides test proctoring services for all Franklin University students, and the surrounding central Ohio community. Our policies and staff uphold the integrity of the testing process by adhering to the NCTA Professional Standards and Guidelines.

Class & Placement Testing
The Learning Commons offers testing services for students needing to take out-of-class exams. The testing center will also administer placement exams to in-coming students, which help establish the appropriate introductory coursework at the University.
Proctoring Services
Exams are proctored in a controlled environment capable of supporting both computer and paper-based tests. Moreover, our policies and staff uphold the integrity of the testing process by adhering to the National College Testing Association (NCTA) Professional Standards and Guidelines.
Proficiency Testing
Franklin wants to help students get all the college credit they deserve so they can save time and money on earning their degree. That’s why we’re pleased to accept proof of college-level learning in the form of proficiency exams. Students may test out of some of their degree program courses and earn college credit by examination for passing CLEP, DSST and other proficiency examinations.
Testing Policies
Please advise students to review our testing policies before their appointment.