Research Guides: Ed.D.: Doctor of Education: Journals

Organizational Leadership Journals

Chronicle of Higher Education
News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
Community College Enterprise
Published by and for community college practitioners, fosters & shares sound educational practices based upon scholarship & research.
Community College Review
A refereed, scholarly journal of original articles on both the theoretical and practical aspects of community college education in the areas of administration and management, changing technology, instruction, programming and curriculum and student needs.
Higher Education
Presents essays on general higher education, but especially related to discussions of specific disciplinary perspectives and reflections of personal teaching practices.
more...less...
Authoritative overview articles, comparative studies and analyses of specific problems affecting universities, technical colleges, polytechnics, adult education institutes, specialist institutions and research institutes worldwide.
Higher Education Quarterly
Discussion and analysis of current policy questions in higher education.
Innovative Higher Education
A refereed scholarly journal of articles presenting descriptions and evaluations of current innovations in higher education that strike a balance between practice and theory.
International Journal of Educational Management
IJEM provides those interested in the effective management of the educational process with a broad overview of developments and best practice in the field, with particular reference to how new ideas can be applied worldwide.
International Review of Research in Open & Distance Learning
Provides a forum for the development of the knowledge base and professional practice of leadership education world-wide.
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Multidisciplinary in perspective, this quarterly journal offers insights into theory and research that can help guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence.
Journal of Higher Education
Published in affiliation with the American Association for Higher Education. Articles, review essays and book reviews dealing with all aspects of higher education.
Journal of Leadership Education
Provides a forum for the development of the knowledge base and professional practice of leadership education world-wide.
Planning for Higher Education
Covers trends and issues in academic planning and management, planning techniques and applied research of relevance to educational decision making.
Research in Higher Education
Empirical studies on administration and faculty, curriculum and instruction, student characteristics, alumni assessment, recruitment and admissions, prediction and student academic performance, attrition and transfer for college administrators.

Educational Administration Quarterly
Articles on education reform, governance and reform in colleges of education, and the professional preparation of educational administrators.
Educational Leadership
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
Educational Management Administration & Leadership
Presents research and analysis on all aspects of leadership, management, administration and policy in education. Peer-Reviewed.
Educational Policy: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Policy and Practice
Educational Policy provides an interdisciplinary forum for improving education in primary and secondary schools, as well as in higher education and non school settings. Educational Policy is concerned with the practical consequences of policy decisions and alternatives. It examines the relationship between educational policy and educational practice, and sheds new light on important debates and controversies within the field.
Elementary School Journal
Original studies, reviews of research and conceptual analyses for researchers and practitioners interested in elementary schooling. (12 month delay on articles)
International Journal of Education Leadership and Policy Journal
Dedicated to enriching the education policy and leadership knowledge base, and promoting exploration and analysis of policy alternatives.
Journal of Educational Administration
International refereed journal in the field of educational leadership and management. Publishes research on educational administration conducted across diverse political, economic and socio-cultural contexts.
Journal of Education Finance
Original articles concerned with the problems and issues of education finance that advance knowledge, theory and practice selected through blind review.
Journal of Research on Leadership Education
The Journal of Research on Leadership Education (JRLE) provides an international venue for scholarship and discourse on the teaching and learning of leadership across the many disciplines that inform the field of educational leadership.
Journal of Special Education Leadership
Provides practical information with a solid research base to meet the needs of special education directors, principals, superintendents and researchers. Peer-Reviewed.
Leadership & Policy in Schools
Presents information for school administrators about educational leadership and educational policy.

Journal of Business and Educational Leadership
Focuses on topics in business and educational leadership, including pedagogies for business ethics, creating online brand value, etc. Peer-Reviewed.
Journal of Cases in Educational Leadership
Publishes peer-reviewed cases appropriate for use in programs that prepare educational leaders. The journal offers a wide range of cases that embody relevant and timely presentations of issues germane to the preparation of educational leaders.
Management in Education
Provides a forum for the exchange of trends & innovations in educational management & administration, allowing readers to evaluate developments & share management ideas & techniques.
Organization Development Journal
Enhances the capacity for practitioner-scholar dialogue & promotes principles of practice of organizational development & change.

Instructional Design Leadership Journals

Advances in Educational Technology and Psychology
A peer-reviewed book series specializing in rapid publication of proceedings of international conferences, workshops and symposia as well as state-of-the-art volumes on topics of current interest in educational technology and psychology areas focusing on innovative methods and technologies.
British Journal of Educational Technology
BJET is a primary source for academics and professionals in the fields of digital educational and training technology throughout the world. The Journal is published by Wiley on behalf of The British Educational Research Association (BERA).
Chronicle of Higher Education
1999 - 1 month ago
Contemporary Educational Technology
Focusing on theory, research, and development in the field of educational technology.
Educational Technology, Research and Development
Educational Technology Research and Development is the only scholarly journal in the field focusing entirely on research and development in educational technology.
Issues and Trends in Learning Technologies (ITLT)
ITLT—formerly published as Issues and Trends in Educational Technology—is published semiannually by the Learning Technology program at the University of Arizona. The journal covers design, development, use and assessment of educational technology in innovative ways, and features articles about research and theory as well as book, serious game and article reviews.
Journal of Educational Technology Systems
The Journal of Educational Technology Systems (ETS) deals with systems in which technology and education interface and is designed to inform educators who are interested in making optimum use of technology.