DNP: Doctor of Nursing Practice

Features original scholarly work that advances the international understanding and development of nursing both as a profession and as an academic discipline. (Peer Reviewed)

Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base. (Peer Reviewed)

Peer reviewed publication focused on presenting articles that demonstrate clinical excellence in the application of evidence-based practice of doctoral nursing. To access articles from 2016 to the present, select the "Springer Publishing Company Journals" under Full Text Access.

Dedicated to issues relating to the management of nurses and nursing. Topics include clinical management methods, budget and resource allocation in health care, quality assurance, business and strategic planning, health policy etc. (Peer Reviewed)

Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) and is the official journal for all members of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP).

Provides the vision, skills, and tools needed by nurses currently in, or aspiring to, leadership positions. The bimonthly journal provides nurses with practical information in an easy-to-read format, offering the knowledge they need to succeed. It pulls together insights from a broad spectrum of successful management and leadership perspectives and tailors the information to the specific needs of nurses. Official journal of the American Organization for Nursing Leadership. (Peer Reviewed)

A peer-reviewed, open access international scientific journal that publishes original scholarly work which is essential for nurses and midwives who are serious about developing their own professions, as well as providing the best outcomes for the clients in their care. Reports of original research and scholarly papers about all aspects of nursing and midwifery practices that have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base are published.

Contains policies, political activities, and health services research that affect nursing practice across all venues of care delivery. (Peer Reviewed)

For 30 years, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) has used improvement science to advance and sustain better outcomes in health and health care across the world.

The AACN is the national voice for academic nursing. AACN works to establish quality standards for nursing education; assists schools in implementing those standards; influences the nursing profession to improve health care; and promotes public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice.

The mission of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve this mission, NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness, research that spans and integrates the behavioral and biological sciences, and that develops the scientific basis for clinical practice.

A nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.

GigaScience is an open access, open data, open peer-review journal focusing on ‘big data’ research from the life and biomedical sciences.

Search tool from Google which provides access to datasets in a variety of formats. Includes the ability to filter search results by date updated, format, rights, and whether usage is free.

Open Health Data features peer-reviewed data papers describing health datasets with high reuse potential. We are working with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and openly available. Equally importantly, the data and the papers are citable, and reuse will be tracked.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a rich source of data for researchers, teachers, and students who want to perform data analysis. This page compiles key sources of information found on the NCHS website for those who are interested in analysis of NCHS data as well as documentation and methodology of NCHS data systems.

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

An online database of health literacy measures. The site contains information about measures, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature.

Information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health with links to PubMed.

RAND's researchers and survey experts have developed numerous health-related surveys. Available for free in the public domain, these surveys are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life. Many of these surveys are intended for the general population, but can be tailored to specific groups, such as the elderly, Medicaid recipients, veterans, and families with small children.

Data, Tools, and Statistics from this NIH agency.

See sample measures from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI).

Search the Franklin Library's catalog to find print or eBooks, CDs, DVDs, and more!