To access Safari eBooks,
The Handbook of Strategic Communication
by
Presents cocreational perspectives on current international practices and theories relevant to strategic communication The Handbook of Strategic Communication brings together work from leading scholars and practitioners in the field to explore the many practical, national and cultural differences in modern approaches to strategic communication. Designed to provide a coherent understanding of strategic communication across various subfields, this authoritative volume familiarizes practitioners, researchers, and advanced students with an inclusive range of international practices, current theories, and contemporary debates and issues in this dynamic, multidisciplinary field. This Handbook covers an expansive range of strategic communication models, theories, and applications, comprising two dozen in-depth chapters written by international scholars and practitioners. In-depth essays discuss the three core areas of strategic communication--public relations, marketing communication, and health communication--and their many subfields, such as political communication, issues management, crisis and risk communication, environmental and science communication, public diplomacy, disaster management, strategic communication for social movements and religious communities, and many others. This timely volume: Challenges common assumptions about the narrowness of strategic communication Highlights ongoing efforts to unify the understanding and practice of strategic communication across a range of subfields Discusses models and theories applied to diverse areas such as conflict resolution, research and evaluation, tobacco control, climate change, and counter terrorism strategic communication Examines current research and models of strategic communication, such as the application of the CAUSE Model to climate change communication Explores strategic communication approaches in various international contexts, including patient-oriented healthcare in Russia, road and tunnel safety in Norway, public sector communication in Turkey, and ethical conflict resolution in Guatemala The Handbook of Strategic Communication is an indispensable resource for practitioners, researchers, scholars, and students involved in any aspect of strategic communication across its many subfields.
Strategic Communication at Work
by
Strategic Communication at Work provides the reader with a practical approach to engaging in all types of communication--one-on-one, small group, and large group--to achieve intended results. The framework presented enables readers to make informed decisions that increase the effectiveness of their communication and enhance their credibility. Lennard presents the IMPACT Paradigm--Intending, Messaging, Presence, Attending, Connecting, and Together--in the first part of the book explaining the benefits of using a single framework for all strategic communication. The second part illustrates how to apply these principles and approach interactions with a purposeful mindset, express ideas congruently, and connect with others. The third part offers curated exercises for practicing communication skills, along with specific ways to integrate the paradigm into everyday communication interactions. The text's clear and practical approach will appeal to graduate students of business communication, as well as instructors and professionals interested in improving their communication skills.
Strategic Communication for Sustainable Organizations
by
This is a seminal book for anyone who wants to understand, shape or study the communication surrounding sustainability in their interactions with colleagues, employees, supply chain partners and external stakeholders. It develops essential insights on the basis of an extensive review of relevant theories and research drawn from multiple disciplines. Interview data gathered from organization members who are currently communicating about sustainability in their cities, universities, nongovernmental organizations, small businesses and large for-profit organizations provide valuable insights from a practitioner's perspective. The interviewees represent organizations such as the Portland Trailblazers, Tyson Foods, the City and County of Denver and the Natural Resources Defense Council. Theory, research and interview comments combine in a reader-friendly way to provide practical insights and stimulate future research.
Strategic Communications for Nonprofits
by
This is a new edition of Strategic Communications for Nonprofits, which was first published in 1999. It is an up-dated, nuts-and-bolts guide to helping nonprofits design and implement successful communications strategies. The book offers a unique combination of step-by-step guidance on effective media relations and assistance in constructing and developing an overall communications strategy aimed at creating social or policy change. It first explains the basic principles of a strategic communications strategy that will define the target audiences you need to reach and tells how to develop the messages and messengers you use to reach them. The book then goes on to address specific issues like earning good media coverage, building partnerships to increase available resources, handling a crisis, and more. This second edition builds on the earlier work and includes new case studies, new trends in media and branding, ethnic media issues, and trends in technology.
Political Communication and Covid-19
by
This edited collection compares and analyses the most prominent political communicative responses to the outbreak and global spread of the COVID-19 strain of coronavirus within 27 nations across five continents and two supranational organisations: the EU and the WHO. The book encompasses the various governments' communication of the crisis, the role played by opposition and the vibrancy of the information environment within each nation. The chapters analyse the communication drawing on theoretical perspectives drawn from the fields of crisis communication, political communication and political psychology. In doing so the book develops a framework to assess the extent to which state communication followed the key indicators of effective communication encapsulated in the principles of: being first; being right; being credible; expressing empathy; promoting action; and showing respect. The book also examines how communication circulated within the mass and social media environments and what impact differences in spokespersons, messages and the broader context has on the success of implementing measures likely to reduce the spread of the virus. Cumulatively, the authors develop a global analysis of the responses and how these are shaped by their specific contexts and by the flow of information, while offering lessons for future political crisis communication. This book will be of great interest to students and researchers of politics, communication and public relations, specifically on courses and modules relating to current affairs, crisis communication and strategic communication, as well as practitioners working in the field of health crisis communication. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license. Thanks to the support of libraries working with Knowledge Unlatched www.knowledgeunlatched.org
Strategic Urban Health Communication
by
Strategic Urban Health Communication Charles C. Okigbo, editor People are bombarded with messages continuously and sorting through them constantly. In this milieu, critical ideas about health promotion and illness prevention are forced to compete with distracting, conflicting, even contradictory information. To get vital messages through, communication must be effective, targeted, artful--in a word, strategic. Strategic Urban Health Communication provides a road map for understanding strategy, enhancing strategic planning skills, and implementing strategic communication campaigns. Deftly written chapters link the art and science of strategic planning to world health goals such as reducing health inequities and eradicating diseases. Flexibility is at the heart of these cases, which span developed and developing countries, uses of traditional and digital media, and chronic and acute health challenges. And the contributors ground their dispatches in the larger context of health promotion, giving readers useful examples of thinking globally while working locally. Included in the coverage: Urbanization, population, and health myths: addressing common misconceptions. Integrating HIV/family planning programs: opportunities for strategic communication. The role of sports in strategic health promotion in low-income areas. The Internet as a sex education tool: a case study from Thailand. Advertising and childhood obesity in China. Health communication strategies for sustainable development in a globalized world. Balancing depth of understanding of audiences and methods of reaching them, Strategic Urban Health Communication is a forward-looking resource geared toward professionals and researchers in urban health, global health, and health communication.
Bridging the Communication Gap in Healthcare
by
This book discusses how hierarchical and collectivist cultures contribute to the challenges and opportunities in communication in health care. Failures in communication may result in threats to patient safety. The work is structured around the Hofstede theoretical framework, focusing on two of the six domains of culture, namely hierarchy and collectivism. To date, guidelines on communication practices in health care have been primarily based on Western evidence and thus do not satisfy the needs of other cultural contexts. Existing studies have shown that strong hierarchical and collectivist cultures, transnationally, have different communication practices, with shared characteristics between several countries in Asia, Africa, and South America. Furthermore, when people migrate, they bring their communication styles -- which reflect their cultural characteristics -- to their new host environment. When not well managed, these differences can yield problematic communication gaps affecting patient care. Building on their extensive work focused on healthcare communication in Southeast Asian cultures, the authors propose remedial approaches and discuss future initiatives for practicing doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other healthcare practitioners who encounter the daily struggle of cultural miscommunication in their clinical practices. They also address the ways in which patients experience hesitancy when communicating with healthcare providers, owing to cultural barriers. The book proposes how healthcare providers might tackle these communication challenges. It is relevant to educators and researchers in medical and health professions education and public health, and for all patients' advocates, who are looking to enhance their communication skills to improve patient care and safety.
Disaster Nursing, Primary Health Care and Communication in Uncertainty
by
The primary aim of this textbook is to contribute towards the promotion of human security by educating nurses with a profound understanding of disaster nursing and to conduct innovative research and practices in cooperation. This textbook emphasizes on multi-professional connections; offers knowledge on how Japanese disaster nursing got evolved in changing social contexts and provides various case studies that reflect wonderful practices in the disaster nursing field which have contributed to the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction, the UN Sustainable Development Goals, and sustainable human security. Frequent disasters have triggered the need for more trans-disciplinary work, high-level care throughout all phases of a disaster event, and the need for nursing leaders. Apart from hospitals, in local communities, nurses can take a role to mitigate health risks. Being a member of every part of the healthcare system, they can become critically needed leaders in emergency management and disaster preparedness. This work includes a DRR Framework and the application to disaster nursing, information on preparedness and community resilience and on the related disciplines and coordination with disaster nursing. It informs on the challenges in disaster nursing, offers instructional design, education development and research in disaster nursing. Students, professional nurses, clinicians, community health practitioners, health volunteers, disaster support organizations, researchers, and community partners who are involved in the care of disaster survivors can use this resource. Written by distinguished experts with diverse backgrounds of nursing, public health, health informatics, and geography, this book shows how practitioners, researchers, policymakers, and multiple community stakeholders who can collaborate effectively and efficiently to restore primary health care of survivors after a local disaster.
Communicating Through a Pandemic
by
Silver Award Winner from the Nonfiction Authors Association "The book is equal parts 'how-to guide' for effective health communications and a memoir of surviving a global pandemic. I appreciated reading about Burke-Garcia's personal reflections about her experiences of isolation, uncertainty and exhaustion during quarantine. She shares her experiences and observations in a relatable and accessible manner. Knowing about the author's personal struggles made me lean into what she had to share from her professional experience leading a communications campaign. Throughout the book, she explores data and research about communication needs among people from diverse groups and presents a sensible critique of the media environment." - Nonfiction Book Award Outbreaks, epidemics, and pandemics are nothing new. Over the last several decades, we have been through numerous--Zika, Ebola, H1N1. The COVID‐19 pandemic, however, has challenged us like never before. During this time, we have struggled to work remotely, to balance work and children's school schedules, and to manage finances in the face of lost or furloughed jobs. We have worried about our loved ones getting sick and being able to support themselves, and we have faced the loneliness that comes with social distancing. It has affected us individually and globally--but we have not all experienced this pandemic in exactly the same way. Some communities have been hit harder in terms of sickness and death rates from COVID‐19. Many have felt the economic pressures of the pandemic more acutely. Still others have struggled disproportionately with the mental health impacts. Context has mattered in this pandemic. There is one common thread that runs through everything we have experienced though: the role that communication has played in managing this pandemic. Whether we are talking about communication about the virus and mitigation strategies, communication between friends and family, the urgent crisis resulting in mis- and dis-information, our complex and diffuse media environment, or new workplace communication strategies, communication has been front and center in this pandemic. The role of communication has been integral to the success and failure of our ability to respond and adapt to and begin to recover from this pandemic--as individuals, collectively as communities, and as countries. As a result, issues such as preparedness, misinformation, literacy and comprehension of virus and vaccine science, health equity and mental health have all gained increased awareness during this time. This book unpacks the many and varied roles that communication has played over the course of this pandemic, in order to help public health professionals, marketers and health communicators, and policymakers alike to understand what we have been through, what has worked well, and what we have struggled with. It will help us learn from our experiences, so we communicate through pandemics more successfully in the future.
Leadership and Communication
by
Managers and leaders spend a great deal of time on communication; it binds together all the communications in the organisational system. In other words, communication is the glue that impacts on the effectiveness of communication in the entire organization, therefore the style of leadership communication has a profound impact on how the organization works. If too much 'glue' is used, the consequence is information overload, which hampers effective communication. If there is too little glue, individuals and entire organizations may find themselves in a pathological state of disorder, with people filling the information vacuum with rumours and gossip. Leadership communication can be involving and participatory, motivating colleagues to be creative and put in as much extra effort as is necessary. Leadership communication can also be power-based and patronizing. Such a style of communication will cause tensions and conflicts within an organization. In this textbook, the author shows how information and communication are parts of a special type of interaction, namely situations in which you want to gain trust or influence people. With a plethora of case examples and practical exercises to get stuck into, this engaging book helps students gain a deeper understanding of the concepts and contexts described in each chapter, such as communication strategies, influencing techniques, communication and values, and communication and trust. The second half of the book offers six personal communication tools, and six personal coaching tools, with assignment to each of the coaching tools. In addition, the book provides 66 exercises to the six personal communication tools. Ideal reading for those taking leadership and communication courses, this textbook takes a practical approach to the key issues in organizational communication that will prepare students for their careers in business.
Digital Political Communication Strategies
by
This book, with a foreword by Manuel Castells, explores the core strategies of digital political communication. It reviews the field's evolution over the past 25 years and examines the coexistence of old and new actors (lobbyists, citizens, parliaments, political parties, media outlets, digital platforms, among others), as well as hybrid communication tactics. Topics covered include frames, fake news, filter bubbles, echo chambers, artificial intelligence, the significance of emotions, and engagement with citizens. As we find ourselves in the fourth wave of digital communication, and in the wake of a pandemic which has shaken the foundations of political communication, an evaluation of these topics is essential to the reinvention of democracy. The book is geared towards students and researchers who wish to delve into the latest trends in digital communication, political communication actors and journalists. It further aims to prepare citizens to effectively deal with messaging that blurs the line between truth and falsehood with increasingly powerful strategies supported by artificial intelligence.
The Corporate Newsroom
by
Breaking down barriers, creating transparency in digital communication and effectively targeting different audiences is critical to today's successful organisations. Establishing a Corporate Newsroom is the answer. The first part discusses the different theoretical approaches of communication and the corporate newsroom model. Special emphasis is given to efficiency and effectiveness as the main pillars of this strategy. The second part presents case studies to illustrate how the corporate newsroom system can be used in the communication departments of organisations. The authors discuss real life examples from Swiss Life Germany and the Dutch Police among others and show how the corporate newsroom method impacted communication strategies and results in these organisations. This book will be of interest not only for PR professionals but also for marketing specialists and business leaders trying to bring corporate communication to the next level.
The Handbook of Crisis Communication
by
The revised and updated new edition of the comprehensive guide to crisis communication research and practice The Handbook of Crisis Communication provides students, researchers, and practitioners with a timely and authoritative overview of the dynamic field. Contributions by an international team of 50 leading scholars and practitioners demonstrate various methodological approaches, examine how crisis communication is applied in a range of specific contexts, discuss the role of culture and technology in crisis communication, and present original research of relevance to the development and evaluation of crisis communication theory. Now in its second edition, the Handbook covers the latest advances in global crisis communication technology, current trends in research and practice, social media in crisis communication, and more. Each of the 38 chapters incorporate new material offering fresh insights into existing areas of crisis communication and explore new and emerging lines of research. A wealth of new case studies, practical scenarios, and in-depth analyses of recent crises are integrated throughout. Examines traditional applications, recent advances, and emerging areas in crisis communication Discusses communication approaches for organizational crises, disasters, political crises, and public health crises Provides up-to-date coverage of the latest terminology, methods, and research trends in the field Highlights how crisis communication theory and research can inform real-world practice Features detailed analyses of crisis communication in major events such as terrorist attacks, natural disasters, industrial accidents, and global pandemics The Handbook of Crisis Communication, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for advanced students in public relations and strategic communication programs, and a valuable reference for researchers and practitioners in fields such as crisis communication, public relations, and corporate communication.
Public Relations Crisis Communication
by
This book explores the definition, nature and context of public relations crises; it also examines and defines the main elements of public relations crises and positions it in the context of the current communication sphere. Public Relations Crisis Communication: A New Model investigates existing group communication theories, including organizational culture, critical theory of organizations, media ecology, public rhetoric, and cross-cultural communication theory to establish their relevance in the context of the new model of public relations crisis. Key concepts from existing public relations crisis theory are also discussed and validated in order to establish prevailing thought. Through a case study of Malaysia Airlines MH370, involving a textual analyses of press communications on the Malaysia Airlines website, this book scrutinises prevailing theory and definitions. Most valuably, this book proposes a new definition and model of public relations crisis, alongside a suggested extension to existing crisis communication theory in the form of a hierarchy of publics to be addressed during crises. This will help to address divergent publics with differing priorities in public relations crisis communication. This book is of interest to students, teachers, researchers and practitioners of public relations, communication, media and marketing, as well as professionals in the aviation industry and international relations.
Use the search box below to find books in the library catalog.
