The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
A collection of almost 150,000 EBooks on business, computer science/IT, humanities, nursing/allied health, and more. Additional functionality such as bookmarking, note taking and printing/copying features are available by creating an Ebook Central account. Contains single use, multi-use and unlimited use titles.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities, and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Includes or has links to full text.
Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
EBSCOHost Databases Advanced Search
This tutorial explains how to use the Advanced Search features in EBSCOhost databases.
All Social Sciences Journals
The Journal Finder is a tool that tells you which database has any given journal/magazine, and it can also give you a list of all available e-journals in a subject area. There are numerous titles on available through the library's databases.
RefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies. This Research Guide will help you get started.
You will need to create an individual account in order to use RefWorks, which you can do by going here: RefWorks Login/Create Account. You must use your Franklin email to create the account, although you can use any password you like. Even if you had an account with the legacy (older) version of RefWorks, you must create a new account and then you'll be able to migrate your saved citations.