Research Guides: PSYC 110 General Psychology: Articles and Databases

Recommended Psychology Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content from the American Psychological Association. Includes full-text journal articles and book chapters in all areas of psychology.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 7,000 research journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities, and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

EBSCOHost Databases Advanced Search

This tutorial explains how to use the Advanced Search features in EBSCOhost databases.

Available Psychology Journals

The Journals page search is a tool that

Allows searching for journals by title, subject or ISBN
Displays which database has any given journal/magazine
Provides lists of all available e-journals in a subject area.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies. This Research Guide will help you get started.

You will need to create an individual account in order to use RefWorks, which you can do by going here: RefWorks Login/Create Account. You must use your Franklin email to create the account, although you can use any password you like. Even if you had an account with the legacy (older) version of RefWorks, you must create a new account and then you'll be able to migrate your saved citations.

New RefWorks (3.0) Training Videos
View the ones you need or all of them.