Research Guides: How to Search the Library: Company and Industry Research

How to Use Company Databases

To find company information, we suggest the following library databases. To learn how to effectively use these databases see the tab for each database, or watch the video in the "Video: Company Research" tab:

Mergent This link opens in a new window
Contains public and private company data. Check the D & B Private Company database box to search for a private company.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

Mergent This link opens in a new window
Contains public and private company data. Check the D & B Private Company database box to search for a private company.

Go to the Mergent Online database.
Use the Company Search bar to search for a company by name or ticker symbol. (Note: For private companies, select the D&B Private Company Database checkbox above the search bar)
Select the correct company from the drop-down or the search results page.
On the company page, use the tabs to explore other information like the Company Financials, Reports, etc. On each tab, use the sub-tabs to explore additional information on each tab.

Mergent Online Search Page

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

For a basic company profile:

Go to Business Source Complete and select Company Information at the top of the page
On the search page, enter the name of a company, then select the correct company from the search results.
After you've selected the correct company, you will be taken to a company summary page. Here, you can use the "On this page" section to see more detailed information. You can also locate articles, books, SWOT analyses, Market Research Reports, and much more pertaining to your company by clicking on "Find Similar Results" to the left:

View this short tutorial to learn how to find company reports and articles from Mergent and Business Source Complete databases. This company information includes company financial data, annual reports, market reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

You may need to research the industry your company is associated with, or you may know the industry, but not the companies associated with it. Go to the IBISWorld database for industry reports:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window

To begin, enter your industry, company, or NAICS code in the search box.
On the results page, look for "US Industry Report" (see label below result title or select only the "Industry" check box on the left side under the "Report Type" section).
On the full report page, find Industry Outlook information, Major Companies, Key Statistics, and much more using the tabs at the top of the report.

Finding MarketLine Reports (with SWOT analysis)

Go to Business Source Complete and select "More" from the top navigation menu, then select "Company Profiles" from the drop-down.

Click the arrows to move back and forth between slides.

Enter your company name in the search box and select "Browse," then select the MarketLine Report for your company from the results list. NOTE: Reports for private companies may not be available.
Once the PDF opens, you can download or print the report.

Locating Company Financials

To locate in-depth financial information for a company, use Mergent Online. Mergent Online will give you annual financial reports, ratios, and much more. You can also search for private companies by selecting "D&B Private Company Database."

Mergent This link opens in a new window
Contains public and private company data. Check the D & B Private Company database box to search for a private company.

To begin, enter your company name in the search box and select Go.
Select your company from the results list.
On the company page, select the Company Financials tab. Tip: Use the sub-menu for different types of financial information:

SEC Filings & Edgar Search in Mergent Online

SEC Filings in Mergent Online

Go to the Mergent Online database
Use the Company Search box search on the homepage to search for your company.
Once on the company profile, select the Filings tab to find company SEC Filings from the last 90 days.
Don't see the right filing type on that list? It may have been released earlier than 90 days ago. Go to the next slide to search earlier filings for the company. (select the right arrow for the Edgar Search)

Edgar Search in Mergent Online

If you need to see more SEC Filings for your company than what is available on the Filings tab, select the "Click here for Edgar Search" link on the Filings tab page.
On the next page, use the Company Search box to search for your company by name, ticker, etc. Select the "Last 12 months" option button within the Filing Date Search box and select the Filing Type from the Filing Type box, then Search.
On the search results page, you can select how you'd like to view the documents.